Posted by: Googie | June 16, 2010

The other days in Cali

The usurper of my bed the other night was an American girl of Peruvian descent called Kathy. Apparently, she had heard such good things about Colombia that when she was in Otavalo, she just couldn’t resist the temptation to take a short 3 day detour into Colombia (only up to Cali), before heading back south into Ecuador. Kathy and I got along quite well, and I invited her to come clubbing with us.

That evening we went to a place called Tin Tin Deo, because we had heard that it really comes alive on Thursday nights. That piece of information was spot-on. Tin Tin Deo was exactly the kind of place I had pictured in my mind when I first thought of a nightclub in South America. There were mostly locals in there, and boy, did they know how to dance!!! I was happy to simply let myself be mesmerised by the incredible leading skills of the guys, and the superbly graceful movements of the ladies.

When all my attempts of finding a replacement adaptor for my laptop were going nowhere, I was getting really worried. After all, what would I do post Cali when even Sarah’s adaptor wouldn’t be there 😦 In desperation, I called my hostel in Popayan, and surprise surprise, they had found a laptop power supply, and agreed to send it through some tourist coming to Cali.
(To Vanessa who brought my adaptor from Popayan to Cali: I’m sorry I couldn’t thank you in person, but if you ever read this, please know that I really really appreciate it.)

Although I was there for a week; I did not see the city of Cali at all. All through the day we would be sleeping, and all through the night we would be dancing 🙂 At other times, we would either be watching football, playing shithead or making a barbecue.

SAM_2452

Few things beat lying in a hammock in a garden with a computer

SAM_2458

The hostel lobby

After a week, I was ready to leave Cali, but I regret not having had a chance to say goodbye to Pedro when he left. I don’t know when we’ll bump into each other next, hopefully during the 2014 football world cup in Brazil 🙂

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

