Posted by: Googie | June 10, 2010

Cali, the salsa capital of the world

Like me, the Dutch couple – Cris & Kim – were also going to Cali from Popayan, and so was another American guy called Ben. So the 4 of us got a bus for the short 3 hour journey, and later shared a taxi to Hostel Iguana.

SAM_2450

The hard-to-spot hostel Iguana

Later at night, when the battery of my netbook was running low and I needed to charge, I could not find the power adaptor. I looked everywhere for it, but it was nowhere to be found, and I was beginning to get a little worried. Just then I spotted the exact same model of netbook, and asked its owner – a girl called Sarah from the UK, who had been in Cali for more than 3 weeks already – if I could borrow her adaptor to charge. Not only did she agree, but was also nice enough to keep her adaptor out in the lobby of the hostel so that I could use it for charging whenever I wanted.

Another pleasant surprise was seeing Pedro again at the Iguana. Late at night, just past 1 am, Pedro, Sarah, a few other guys from the hostel and I went out to check out the nightlife in Cali. We didn’t really go to the best places in town but settled for a slightly downmarket option. But it was fun nevertheless, and after an early morning “dinner” at McDonalds, we were back in the hostel at around 6 am.

I was looking forward to a deep slumber late into the day, but some girl was already dozing on my bunk. Someone more adventurous than I may have seen this as an opportunity and cuddled up next to her, but despite being exhausted by sleeplessness I managed to find myself an alternative bed 🙂

SAM_2449

Roots

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

