Posted by: Googie | May 27, 2010

The Pacific Ocean

Once my work at the Colombian embassy was done, there was no reason for me to stay in Quito any longer. So I went back to the hostel, took my bags and left for the bus terminal. A bus to the coastal town of Esmeraldas would take 6 hours at least, which meant that it would be late at night by the time I would reach – a situation that a single traveler should avoid as far as possible. So I decided to cut short my journey and bought a ticket to Santo Domingo de Los Colorados which was just 3 hours away.

I reached Santo Domingo at about 8 pm to find that the bus terminal was in a rough looking neighbourhood. There were groups of men standing around with skimpily clad prostitutes walking about. With my backpack I clearly stood out as a tourist and was the target of all their stares, so I dared not fish out my camera to take pictures. Fortunately there were many hostels around, and I could easily find a cheap room to spend the night.

Early next morning, I boarded a bus to Esmeraldas, and then another one going along the coast to a small town called Muisne (pronounced moo-ee-nay). There was a small arm of the sea to cross (very similar to Bengare in Mangalore) to get to the island of Muisne itself. I rented a sea facing room with a hammock outside, and proceeded to the beach to touch the waters of the Pacific Ocean for the first time ever.

SAM_2076

Hammock

SAM_2062

First look at the Pacific Ocean

SAM_2063

Puffed up dead fish at the beach

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

