Posted by: Googie | May 3, 2010

Googie Goes Bungee Jumping

On the way back from Tena, our bus dropped us very close to the bridge in Baños from where one could jump off the edge suspended by bungee cords, for a mere $10. I had always wanted to do a bungee jump, and couldn’t wait. Abraham had already done it twice before, and he was ready for more. Nicolas & Pedro didn’t want to, so they were in charge of capturing our jumps.

Abraham went first and jumped backwards. The whole setup looked pretty safe, so I was almost unafraid. I would have liked to jump forward with the ground rushing toward me, but my harness had already been fixed for a backward jump, so I went ahead with it.

Here I will digress. I am writing this post sitting in a small classroom in the school, and I could hear something that didn’t quite fit in. Since I was lost in my thoughts, it took me a while to realise that it was a Hindi song playing faintly somewhere. As soon as it struck me, I rushed outside to find the kids dancing to “Bole chudiyan, bole kangana” from the movie “Kabhi Khushi Kabhi Gham”. It was anything but my favourite song, but it was still a pleasant surprise to hear it playing on the other side of the World!!

Coming back to the topic, I jumped backwards facing the sky and fell freely for about 2 to 3 seconds maybe, after which the cords tightened around me. I was seeing stars and it took some time to get my orientation right. After that, I swung around suspended in mid air for about 5 minutes while they gently lowered me down to the ground.

It hadn’t been a real bungee jump where one is tied only at the ankles, but for a fraction of the cost, it had been a good experience.

<< VIDEO UPDATE PENDING >>

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

