Posted by: Googie | April 9, 2010

At last – Ecuador

After an exhausting wait inside the Miami International Airport, it was time to fly. If they made it so difficult to enter the United States, they made it equally simple to leave. This policy actually makes a lot of sense. I wonder what the Vietnamese were thinking when they decided to make it so simple to get into their country but gave me a hard time when I was leaving – ridiculous!

Anyway, I boarded my flight to Quito, Ecuador and on arrival, the one’s who were to go on ahead to Guayaquil were taken to a waiting area. It was here that I felt the massive Spanish impact. Nobody, besides a few of the airline staff, spoke English. The message was amply clear – learn Spanish or perish.

SAM_1311

The plane that flew me to South America

A short flight later I was in Guayaquil. Immigrations was a breeze – mainly because the immigrations officer and I had no common language of communication 🙂 The staff at my school had advised me to start from Guayaquil only in the morning, so that meant yet another night spent in an airport.

Cafes in the airport were closing for the day, and they didn’t mind people sleeping on their comfortable sofas after business hours. So I got some much needed rest.

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

