Posted by: Googie | April 3, 2010

USA

I was very sad to leave Turkey, but one has to do what one has to do. Landed in Chicago and waited in the immigrations queue for more than an hour. Finally when my turn came, the officer asked me for my tickets out of the US, but I couldn’t find them. So I was taken into another place where I had to wait longer. I was called eventually, and thankfully by then I had located my tickets, so everything went smoothly and I was through.

SAM_1084

Flying over the Canadian Tundra

By now I had become quite an expert at sleeping at airports, so waiting in Chicago was no problem at all. Flew straight from there to Atlanta, and waited again with no clue about what to do next 🙂

Luckily for me, Divya happened to be online and said she would come and pick me up. It was more than 2 hours drive for her, so we agreed to meet halfway. I would have to take a cab to the Mall of Georgia. So I came out of the airport and talked to one of the taxis waiting there. They asked for $100, which I thought was way too much, so I walked away. I was asking some people if there was some way I could call a metered cab, when a guy came up to me and said that he was the driver of the shuttle between the airport and Comfort Inn. He offered to give me a free ride to his hotel and call a cab from the hotel reception. I agreed and got into his van. Once at the hotel, he called the cab which came after about 20 minutes. I arrived at the Mall of Georgia 45 minutes after Divya & her room-mate Steffi, and how much did this cab cost me? $110.
I would have been better off taking one of the cabs at the airport itself. Damn!

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

