Posted by: Googie | February 24, 2010

Shooting an AK-47

It was a cold, snowy night in Chicago (sometime in Feb 2008) when Gowdish, Ramesh & I went to watch an NBA game. After the game, I remember saying to them, “There are 2 kinds of people in the world – those who have watched an NBA game, and those who haven’t”.

I was to modify this statement a few months later (in September 2009), and put it as my status message on a social networking site. The new statement was, “There are 2 kinds of people in the world – those who have jumped out of an airplane, and those who haven’t”. This was following my first, and so far, only skydive.

Today, I’m modifying the statement once again.
“There are 2 kinds of people in the world – those who have fired an AK-47 machine gun, and those who haven’t”.

I had arranged for a motorbike taxi to come and pick me up from my guesthouse early in the morning, to take me to the firing range. Once I got there, I was shown a menu card (I wasn’t allowed to photograph the menu). Each page of the menu had the picture of a gun, a brief description, originating country, whether single shot or automatic, location where it could be fired, and the cost of firing it.

One could choose from a range of handguns, revolvers, sub-machine guns, machine guns, a grenade launcher and even a rocket launcher (bazooka). If I could have afforded the steep $350 price tag of firing a rocket launcher, I would probably have done that. But I stuck to my second favourite item on the menu – the AK-47 for $40.

Next I was given an army jacket and thick earphones, and led to a narrow tunnel kind of structure where the gun was already kept ready. I gave my camera to the guy in charge, and asked him to take a video of my maiden gun experience.

To start with, the gun was in single shot mode, but it refused to fire the first few times because something was stuck. When it actually did fire, I realised what a powerful weapon it was and knew that one bullet from this thing was enough. I am a rather bulky guy, and I had placed myself firmly on my seat expecting a strong recoil but it still shook me pretty hard. I would not recommend this for persons with weak chests or shoulders. After firing about 5 single shots, I asked him to change it to automatic mode, and proceeded to obliterate my target.

SAM_0569

Rock N Roll

SAM_0577

The firing tunnel

The entire duration (from me walking into the firing tunnel and out of it) would have lasted about 2 minutes, but I would say it was worth it. The guy also told me that for a price, any target – from a duck to a cow – could be arranged. But I would NEVER kill a living thing for sport, so I just killed a man drawn on paper.

SAM_0574

The poor guy didn’t stand a chance

SAM_0578

Take your pick, gentlemen!

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Responses

  1. I think it would be better to answer the question “Have you used a gun?” at the US airport with a “Gun? What is that?”

  2. Ooh…ooh… I have so many funny things to say about your aim… but unfortunately…commenting from office is scary…will log in again from home 🙂

  3. I will soon catch up with you. I have already travelled all the places you have gone until Feb 24th 🙂

  4. cool !! u son of gun !! 😉

  5. neat! i yearn 😦


Leave a Reply

Categories

