Posted by: Googie | February 19, 2010

The mystery of the missing bicycle

Juli, Ryan & I rented 3 bicycles from the guesthouse at 5 am, and set out to watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat. Midway there, Juli’s bike had a flat tyre, so we parked it by the side of the road and locked it. Juli sat on the carrier of my bike till Angkor Wat. The sunrise itself was quite nice although a large number of other tourists had also turned up.

SAM_0329

At 5 am, Ryan & I are so groggy, but Juli seems to be wide awake

SAM_0337

Sunrise at Angkor Wat

Later, we went to the huge temple of Bayon (with the large stone faces) and Phrae Khan, with Ryan & I taking turns to take Juli on our bikes. Ryan headed back early since he had some work in town, so on the way back, Juli & I took turns riding the bike and sitting behind on the carrier.

SAM_0363

Twins

SAM_0364

Close-up of the ancient man

At Angkor Wat, I got on a motorbike taxi with the intention of picking up Juli’s bike and taking it back to the guesthouse. But on reaching the spot where we had parked the bicycle in the morning, we discovered that it was missing. The driver of the motorbike taxi and I looked everywhere around in the vicinity with no luck. We concluded that someone must have stolen it. We waited for Juli to come by and gave her the bad news. She was distraught because it was a new bicycle, and the guys at the guesthouse would charge a bomb for it.

The driver of the motorbike taxi rode away and returned with 2 cops. The cops also looked around a little, then told us what we already knew – that it was careless of us to park by the side of the road. One of them spoke into his walkie-talkie, and then returned with a smile. Some other cops had actually confiscated the bicycle and taken it to one of their camps.

Juli breathed a sigh of relief on hearing this, and asked me if I could go and get the bike back. I got onto the cop’s motorcycle, asked my taxi guy to follow us, went to the police camp and found our bicycle. The cop looked at me in a way that it was obvious he wanted a tip, but I just gave him my most sincere thanks and a vigorous handshake; quickly placed the bicycle on the motorbike taxi and was gone in a flash. Back at the guesthouse, I gave the motorbike taxi driver a generous $5 tip because he truly deserved it.

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Responses

  1. … Googie, I wish the vigorous handshakes and sincere thanks could work in India 🙂 imagine doing this in Varanasi! 🙂

    • Haha 🙂
      But Jana, you did it quite well at AB foundation, didn’t you?!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

