Posted by: Googie | February 8, 2010

Thailand – the land of smiles

OJ & I landed in Mumbai at around 1 am and met VMK & Kini just outside the airport. From there we got into a cab to go to the international airport. On the way, the guys suddenly remembered that they needed to stock up on Indian cigarettes and Rajnigandha; so off we went in search of a paan shop in the middle of the night. Thankfully, we found one on the way, because something told me that we would have searched for one the entire night even if it meant missing our flight.

The flight took off at 5.30 am Indian time, and landed at Suvarnabhumi International airport in Bangkok at 10.30 am local time. The visa on arrival system was fairly simple and to encourage tourism, Thailand had waived off the visa fees till March. The others had their return journey tickets, but I hadn’t bought any ticket out of Thailand as I was planning on travelling to Cambodia by road. I was hoping that the visa officer would consider my case and grant me a visa straight away, but that was not to be. He insisted on seeing a ticket out of Thailand, so I was left with no choice but to buy one at the airport itself.

OJ & I went looking for a ticketing counter, and the only one present was one of Thai airways. Booking a Thai airways flight and later canceling it would cost me 2000 THB, and I wasn’t too keen on spending so much for no reason. So we found an internet cafe at the airport itself, and “arranged” for a return ticket*

(* -> details will be provided on request)

With my newly made return ticket, even I got a visa; and we were all now legally authorised to travel around the land of smiles for the next 15 days.

<<< PICTURES UPDATE PENDING >>>

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Responses

  1. * >> Details might actually be found on the nxt episode of Jailed Abroad !!


Leave a Reply

Categories

