Posted by: Googie | October 8, 2009

Gimme a break now, will ya!

I have always loved to travel, just like my parents. Owing to them, I have been to many touristic places all over India. We’ve gone as far north as Kashmir, as far south as Kanyakumari and as far east as Sikkim. I think Mumbai is probably the “westest” that I’ve been to. We’ve even left the mainland to travel to the Andaman Islands late last year.

Since the Indian currency is not all that strong, we could never afford to travel abroad; but I was lucky to get two onsite assignments in the United States which partly fulfilled this dream as well. But my parents have still not been anywhere outside India – and I intend to fix that as soon as I can.

So coming back, here I was with my pals trying to decide what I could/should do after Dec 31st 2009. My options were:

  • find another IT job
  • work for an NGO
  • work as a volunteer at couchsurfing
  • become a social worker in some poor country
  • start a new venture
  • go for higher studies

What I did not want to do was “find another IT job”. I had been in the IT industry for more than 5 years, and honestly, I had had enough (at least for now). I needed a break, and I decided that’s exactly what I would get in 2010.

Share this post:

Facebook     Twitter     Delicious     Digg     Reddit

StumbleUpon     Mixx         Others…

Leave a Reply

Categories

